The Adeline Hoffman Prize

The Adeline Hoffman Prize aims to promote undergraduate research by rewarding the best paper submitted to the Journal of Student Scholarship. The winner of the Adeline Hoffman Prize receives $1,500. Beginning in spring 2016, the Adeline Hoffman Prize will be awarded annually. The prize is offered through the office of the Dean of the School of Humanities and Social Sciences. The prize selection committee is comprised of seven faculty members from two or more schools at The College of New Jersey.


2023: Emily Garron, “A Natural Experiment: Testing the Importance of Crowds for the Home
Advantage in Sports,” and to three second-prize winners: Jessica Abolafia, “Breaking the Silence
and the Shackles: The Incarcerated Finding Emancipation Through the Written Word,”
Kaitlyn Dibsie, “The Effectiveness of Prison Dog Programs on the Mental Health and Recidivism
Rates of Inmates, and Mikayla Miller, “Maternal Responsiveness: A Potential Mediator for
Associations Among Maternal Depression, Low Socioeconomic Status, and Negative Infant
Language Development.”

2022: Nandini Mutyala for the winning essay, “Public Health Applications of Twitter During the Current COVID-19 Pandemic,” and to three second-prize winners: Ryan Abramowitz, “Perceiving Ampullae: Approaches to the Production and Distribution of Asia Minor Flasks Housed at the Princeton University Museum of Art,” Kimberly Cacciato, “Visual Phonics: An Effective Instructional Tool for d/Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students,” and Cameron Keating, “‘I Can’t Afford to Do This’: Consumption and Access to Groups on Campus.”

2021: Rebecca Kim for the winning essay, “Teaching the Holocaust in Elementary School: Finding Common Ground,” and to two second-prize winners: Steven Cason for “The Pluralized I: White Appropriation of Black Women’s Voices in The History of Mary Prince: A West Indian Slave Narrative and Elisa Liang for “Negative Emotions and Breakup Anxiety in Romantic Conflict Narratives: Links to Verbal Aggression.”

2020: Nicole Grafanakis for the winning essay, “The Queer Influence of Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” and to John Ball for the second-prize essay, “Priscilla Herbert: The College of New Jersey’s First African-American Graduate.”

2019: Terance Schuh for the winning essay, “Three-Dimensional Relativistic Jet Simulations of Radio-Loud Active Galactic Nuclei (AGN),” and to two second-prize winners: Maureen Haque for “Investigating Food Insecurity in Trenton and Identifying Key Factors in Access to Food for Trenton Residents, and Maureen Hudson for “Teaching for Peace from the Inside Out: A Mindful Whole Child Approach”

2018: Jillian Manzo for the winning essay, “Maria Montessori’s Legacy: Twenty-First-Century Peace Education.

2017: Alessandra Testa for the winning essay, “Gazes of Race, Immigration, and Hegemony in Io Sto con la Sposa (On the Bride’s Side) and Come un Uomo sulla Terra (Like a Man on the Earth),” and to Corrado Ballaera for the second-prize essay, “Utilizing a 4-F Fourier Optical System to Learn More About Image Filtering.”

2016: Albert Cavallaro for the essay, “Western (Mis)perceptions of Tsar Ivan IV Vasilyvich the “Terrible”: Depictions of Ivan IV’s Reign by Western Writers from the 16th to the 21st Century Alongside 16th-Century Works of Western European Political Thought”